Sick as a dog

I’ve never been a picture of health. While I’ve never really had any serious health problems, I just get sick a lot. Strep throat constantly, stomach flu, UTI, etc. I am always sick with something. As a child, this was especially true when I travelled. For my parents, this was mortifying – every time I went to stay with a relative for a few days, I’d end up puking all over their new carpet, or my host would be tasked with giving me suppositories.

I’m not sure why I’m so sickly. I could be because I avoid healthy food like the plague, or because I can’t make myself worry about germs. Or, I could just be a sickly person. My mom told me that when I was born, the doctor told her that I would always be sickly but didn’t tell her why. When she asked him a few days later, he denied having ever said that. So, either Mom just had a psychic premonition, or the doctor saw something in me that was weak. I guess we’ll never know.

All this is to say that I haven’t been updating this blog because I’ve been sick. I had strep throat a few weeks, and that was easily taken care of by anti-biotics. But last week, I was struck with one of the most painful stomach aches of my life. I’m talking doubled over, screaming pain. And it last for 8 days. I saw three doctors during that time, and was diagnosed with giardia (stomach parasite), stomach ulcers, and then gall stones. I don’t think (based on my Googling…) that it was any of these. Just some sort of crazy stomach bacteria that almost killed me.

Guess what they wanted me to do with these?

Yeah, this was fun.

I finally finally finally felt better two days ago, and since then instead of being sick as a dog, I’ve been working like a dog. Due to my illness, my whole project launch was delayed, and we only started training on Wednesday, when I was well enough to leave the house. So, I’ll update more when I can. Coming up next: Joachim’s creations in the kitchen.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sick as a dog

  1. Elisabeth says:

    I’m sorry to hear you were ill but happy that you are feeling better now!

  2. kristin says:

    Uggg. So sorry. Being sick sucks especially when you’re far away from the creature comforts of home.

    That’s so weird about the doc saying that. What could he have seen? Your mom was probably just out of her gourd (understandably). I think I actually spoke with leprechauns after giving birth to Georgia.

    Keep updating & include the Mister’s happenings as well. Love to you both,

    k

Leave a Reply

